Gone But Not Forgotten: Celebrating Dad’s Birthday

oday would have been my dad’s 76th birthday.

Even though he’s been dead for over 10 years now, there are things I see nearly every day that remind me of him – old cars, 18 wheelers, Texas Longhorns football games…

I wish my Dad was still here. Not just because he was my Dad and I loved him, but so he could see my wife, my two little girls, and my grand children – so we could have one more beer together and maybe go fishing one last time. I wish he could see all my sisters’ grand kids and my brother Adam’s new wife and his soon-to-be-born baby girl.

Dad would like that. A lot.

Most of all I wish Dad was still here because he was, well, “Dad”.

He was a damned good man.

And a damned good Dad.

Here’s a story I wrote a few years ago that I post every June 5th, the day my Dad died.

Read it.

2 responses to “Gone But Not Forgotten: Celebrating Dad’s Birthday

  1. They gave us more than they knew.
    Missed for sure

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

