A Decade As a Dumbass Family: 10 Years With Mrs. Fearless Leader!

 

Ten Years Ago Today:

  • I had just moved from Tyler,Texas to Central City, Colorado.
  • I made a phone call that changed the course of my life.
  • During that phone call the tread on my hiking boots got caught on a very small step on the front porch sidewalk.
  • I fell on my ass.
  • And kept falling for twelve steps and about 8 verticle feet.
  • I broke my elbow in five places.
  • I bled like a stuck cabrito (goat) at a Meskin BBQ.
  • I threw the phone.
  • It landed in the street which was another 8 verticle feet and twelve more steps lower than where I landed once I stopped tumbling.
  • About twenty-five yards away from me.
  • In two different pieces in two different directions!
  • That phone still works.
  • The Young Lady On the Other End of the Line thought I had hung up on her.
  • No, I was bleeding to Death with five extra pieces in my left elbow.
  • The Young Lady On the Other End of the Line is now my wife.

The 10 Year Journey

Here’s an long excerpt from a story I wrote a while back that further explains things. 

I came here on a whim, unannounced, and my life changed forever – for the first time I laid my eyes on Heather and Issy in real life.

Back Story: I first got to know Heather in an AOL Chat Room back in 2004. (Don’t laugh yet!) All I knew about her was that she was a single Mom with a then almost-two-year-old Baby Girl, Isabella. I noticed in that Chat Room that Heather was not, shall we say “shy”. I liked that.

Read the rest…..

6 responses to “A Decade As a Dumbass Family: 10 Years With Mrs. Fearless Leader!

  1. “I came here on a whim, unannounced, and my life changed forever”
    Best opening line ever.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy birthday, Heather. I’m surprised you didn’t push him down those steps …

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a beautiful post and tribute to Mrs. Fearless (I refuse to call her Dumbass.) Ouch on that horrendous fall you took, btw. Congratulations to you, we really can’t call you Dumbass either because you were smart enough to marry her. Felicidades! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

